Finding that harvestable image

The portrait shoot with the Banthias was instructive on several levels. I used automatic camera settings all throughout, manipulating white balance and exposure post-shoot in Photoshop. I shot with manual settings with Brandon and lost so many images. Maybe with more practice I’ll get better at doing manual-setting photography but maybe I’ve found the process that works for me in this shoot with the Banthias.

I shoot quickly, only making lighting changes when I really have to e.g. to avoid obvious, undesirable shadows. I should probably learn to be more deliberate with lighting and camera settings but when I have a model or models with me the excitement is hard to resist. I take as many shots as I can. I end up with hundreds of images that becomes a challenge to process from just the sheer number. If I set up the lights and camera settings more carefully, I’ll have fewer images to review and process. Will I be missing out on images that I’ll like?
This image was unplanned. I simply took advantage of the situation and hoped for the best. The women were arranging their saris when I took this photo. I should probably make it a point to let the models know that I want to take photos “behind the scenes” and set up a camera to do just this.

I shoot a lot of images because many times the image I want is an image I had not planned on getting. I direct the models into situations or poses that I think should yield the image we want but it’s the spontaneous take that often yields the harvestable image.

Posted via email from Duende Arts

About orlando gustilo

Digital content producer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

