The Exaltation of Books: Edmund White, Writer

Edmund White is best known for his novels but he has written more non-fiction prose that I hadn’t read until recently, in David Bergman’s comprehensive collection published in 1994.

Reading the magazine articles and essays in the collection sparked my interest because for years I’ve struggled with writing fiction and frankly I don’t have a fiction-writer’s bone in my body. I have no imagination!

One of my earliest recollections about art and imagination was Tatay (“Dad” in Hiligaynon) poo-pooing movies. “It’s not real, it’s just make-believe,” he told us after taking us to see a movie at the Main Theater on Calle Real downtown Iloilo. My youngest sister was not in the picture, just my older sister and I, so I must have been seven or younger.

About orlando gustilo

Digital content producer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

