Connected to the Gut, to the Generative Parts of Us

Kelsi at Murphy's 3975frs

I have not posted here in two years! Each day I’ve thought of writing again but somehow feet took me somewhere else, head and eyes somewhere else.

I have also not shot or edited photos of models in months. I think I have recovered a bit of originality to dare to return to this genre of image-making art. I was much too constrained by what all the other photographers seemed to be doing and had to find my own “eye”.

I’m not looking for conventional beauty, or fashion magazine beauty, but something else, something more connected to Garcia Lorca’s duende – that chthonic energy that lies between the living and the dead and prophetic rather than descriptive, evocative rather than storytelling, a connection with the gut, the generative organs, the pit of our souls and its ribald twin.

About orlando gustilo

Digital content producer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in art, beauty, conventional beauty, creativity, culture, death, digital art, Digital Content Production, duende, fashion, Female models, Garcia Lorca, inspiration, Photography, visual art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Connected to the Gut, to the Generative Parts of Us

  1. ShimonZ says:

    Ah, what we don’t look for, Orlando. Best to follow the eye and the hands… to play with the instrument we’re holding in our hands… to follow our curiosity… and then later, when the work is done, to give it a name and find the category that helps others to realize the context. Very good to see you again.

    • orlando gustilo says:

      Thank you, ShimonZ. I see the headings of your posts but lately I’ve not followed blogs; I’ve tried to do more with art but words (ideas) were my first loves. Thank you for the comments. We are indeed instruments for Energy to play through that the world renews its wonders again and again 😄

Leave a Reply

