A Painterly Evening on 82nd Street

Evening Sky Impasto 6939s

Seven years after I quit my lifetime profession to learn photography then the larger gamut of visual art, I find myself still experimenting with looks and style. This is a frankly impressionistic but impasto rendering of 82nd Street tonight that I came across serendipitously when I combined Photoshop’s HDR filter and a third-party plug-in that together, to my surprise, created this color-rich image.

Frankly I am more than a bit ashamed at creating something this beautiful with just a few strokes of the mouse. What I really want to do is migrate from my computer desk to the easel a few steps away and try my hand with analog work. But digital technology so far has kept me enthralled. There is so much more that I want to explore digitally. I have not even started using Photoshop brushes, or my Wacom tablet or my paint programs. All I’ve used is Photoshop with the increasing power of Adobe’s Camera Raw adjustments that allow global and local adjustments.

I did want to resume writing in this blog daily if I could so offer this work here with both misgivings and the delight of unintended discovery.

About orlando gustilo

Digital content producer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in art, art exploration, creativity, digital art, modern art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Painterly Evening on 82nd Street

  1. ShimonZ says:

    I like this piece. Photography can’t be judged or appreciated in the same way as painting with color. The more you learn about it, the more you realize that what matters in creating images is something far different from painting. And because there is always that possibility of reaching the heights in a moment of inspiration, there is a lot of competition out there, making it all the harder to really produce something that reaches others while expressing an inner emotion or thought. Good to see you back on the blog.

Leave a Reply

