Times Square, NYC, 2013

Times Square People 7584s

With this shot at Times Square, NYC, I am starting to add the year the photo was taken. I have archives going back to 2008 when I started taking photography seriously. Most of these pictures looked awful back then when I had different aesthetics than I do now. What has changed?

A viewer commented on one of my posted photos: I like to see catch light in the eyes! The model, an older gentleman wore a cap so his eyes were shaded but I shot him in ambient light so light was diffuse, no catch light!

I don’t like to beautify photos although especially for young women I might soften and smoothen the skin. The last couple of months especially I’ve found myself eschewing structural editing of photos. I do modify lighting and contrast as I did in this photo where I wanted the foreground person to be darker than the background person so the contrast between the two would be obvious.

We change with time. For now I find myself shifting away from the stylized editing that many photographers employ, what I call pictorialist photography, and going for more structural realism.

About orlando gustilo

Digital content producer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in art technology, black and white photography, philosophy of art, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

